Latest, 15 Oct 2026:20,000 usersMove the mouse over the chart for any month
Ratings count
monthly, 3 years
Latest, 15 Oct 2026:233 ratingsMove the mouse over the chart for any month
The Chrome Web Store rounds user counts down to the leading digit, so the user line moves in steps. The ratings count is exact and is the better signal of real adoption.
About Disable Autoplay for YouTube™
Disable Autoplay for YouTube™ is a lite extension that lets you easily stop/pause YouTube videos from auto-playing.
The toolbar button serves as an ON|OFF switch for this addon (the icon will change color accordingly). The red color shows an active state and the dark grey color shows a disabled state. To work with this addon, please add this addon to your browser and then start browsing YouTube. When the addon is active, videos are stopped automatically from playing when you open one. When videos are stopped, the buffering does not continue. You can change this behavior from the options page and let the videos "pause" instead of "stop". This way, the buffering continues but the video won't play. There is another option on the settings page to play or pause videos when a tab is focused or hidden (unfocused). These two options are not active by default. This addon works for all YouTube videos whether they are embedded or not. However, you can disable this feature from the settings page.
Note 1: when you switch to the miniplayer, the video stops again. So if you want to use the youtube miniplayer feature, please turn off this addon.
Note 2: by default, this addon does not work for youtube shorts and the small video player on the channel page. To enable this feature, please mark option #3 on the settings page.
To report bugs, please fill out the bug report form on the addon's homepage (https://mybrowseraddon.com/disable-autoplay.html).
Growth
Window
Users
Change
Ratings
Rating
7 days
0
+0.0%
0
+0.31
30 days
0
+0.0%
+3
+0.31
6 months
0
+0.0%
+25
+0.36
1 year
+10K
+100.0%
+42
+0.37
Chrome Web Store search rankings
Where Disable Autoplay for YouTube™ appears when people search the store, with the 30 day change